Sports Ministry hold retreat to discuss future of Ghana football

Friday 11th July , 2014 3:38 pm

The Ministry of Youth and Sports and the  Ghana Football Association will, later today, engage  about 60 football administrators to discuss issues concerning the development of soccer in the country.

The two day retreat will seek to find answers to various questions about the future of the sport, that have arisen as a result of the poor performance put up by the senior national soccer team, the Black Stars, at the World Cup.

Reports of various acts of indiscipline plagued the teams camp, which climaxed with the indefinite suspension of senior players Kevin Prince Boateng and Sulley Muntari for separate offenses.

The Black Stars threatened to boycott their final group game against Portugal unless their appearance fees had been paid to them in cash, a situation which resulted in the air lifting of 3 million dollars from Ghana, a move that many in the sports fraternity have criticized.

The sports administrators invited are made up of individuals who have acquired knowledge and experience on issues on the field of play as well as football management and administration in Ghana and abroad.

This, the Ministry stated, is the first in the series of engagements that will take place between various stakeholders in sporting disciplines in the country and those involved in youth development to help drive the sector.

Below is a full list of participants invited by the Sports Ministry.

List of Participants

Ato Ahwoi, Nana Sam Brew Butler, M.N.D. Jawula, Ade Coker, Welbeck Abra Appiah, Joe Aggrey, Prof. Joshua Alabi, Alhaji Aliu Raji, J.Y. Appiah, Commodore Mensah, Harry Zakour, Alhaji Said Sinare, Abbey Pobee, Mr. Joe Kpenge, Dr. K.K. Sarpong, Oheneba Charles, Kwabena Yeboah, Christian Abbew, George Amoako, Sir Sam Jonah, Karl Tuffour, Ackah Anthony, Awuah Nyamekye, Randy Abbey, Kwame Baah-Nuakoh, Ben Kwofie, Jones Abu Allassan, Ex-Referee L.O. Laryea, Owuahene Acheampong, C.K. Akonnor, Abedi Ayew Pele, Dr. Nyaho Tamakloe, Odotei Sowah, Tony Yeboah, Mike Mensah Bonsu, Alhaji Grusah, Ibrahim Sunday, Rev. Osei Kofi, Sam Arday, Stephen Appiah, Kurt Okraku, Mr. Rex Danquah, Prof. Kofi Kumado, Antwi Gyamfi, Maj. Yaw Larson, Hon. Osafo Marfo, Hon. Papa Owusu Ankomah, Hon Rashid Pelpuo, Hon. E. T. Mensah, Hon. Akua Sena Dansoa, Hon. Elvis Afriyie-Ankrah, Hon. Clement Humado, Hon. Rashid Bawa, Hon. Mohammed M. Mubarak, Hon. Dominic Fobih, Hon. Amarkai Amarteifio

By: Benjamin Nketsia/citifmonline.com/Ghana