Ghanaian flavour in 2014/15 UEFA Europa League

Friday 29th August , 2014 2:32 pm
Mubarak Wakaso of Cltic will be representing Ghana in the Europa League
Mubarak Wakaso of Cltic will be representing Ghana in the Europa League

This season’s UEFA Europa League will have as many as eight Ghanaian players featuring for different teams after the draw for the competition was made in Zurich on Friday.

Former Asante Kotoko left-back Gideon Baah and his HJK Helsinki side made the competition and have been put in Group B with FC Copenhagen (who dropped out of the Champions League), Club Brugge of Belgium and Torino of Italy.

Black Stars midfielder Mubarak Wakaso will be playing for Scottish champions Celtic in the tournament while he is there on loan from Rubin Kazan of Russia. Celtic are in Group D. He could be facing fellow Ghanaian player, Lee Addy, who is on the books of Croatian team , Dinamo Zagreb.

The two teams are joined by FC Astra of Romania, who have a Ghanaian duo of Seidu Yahaya and former Kpando Heart of Lions forward Sadat Bukari, and Salzburg of Austria.

Rabiu Mohammed, also of the Black Stars, will be in Group H with his Russian side Kuban Krasnodar and he will face another of his national team colleagues in Christian Atsu of Everton who are also in the group.

The group is completed by French team, Lille, and former German champions Wolfsburg.

Former Hearts of Oak forward Samuel Afum will also be in the competition with his Swiss side, Young Boys, were drawn into Group I. They will face Italian side Napoli, Czech team Sparta Prague and Slovan Bratislava of Slovakia.

Meanwhile, defending Europa League champions, Sevilla will begin their journey to hold on to their title in Group G with Standard Liege of Belgium, Rijeka of Croatia, and Feyenoord of Holland.

The competition begins on the 18th of September.

Here is the full draw of the 2014/15 Europa League group stages:

Group A: Villarreal CF (ESP), VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach (GER), FC Zürich (SUI), Apollon Limassol FC (CYP)

Group B: FC København (DEN), Club Brugge KV (BEL), Torino FC (ITA), HJK Helsinki (FIN)

Group C: Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG), Beşiktaş JK (TUR), FK Partizan (SRB), Asteras Tripolis FC (GRE)

Group D: FC Salzburg (AUT), Celtic FC (SCO), GNK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO), FC Astra Giurgiu (ROU)

Group E: PSV Eindhoven (NED), Panathinaikos FC (GRE), Estoril Praia (POR), FC Dinamo Moskva (RUS)

Group F: FC Internazionale Milano (ITA), FC Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk (UKR), AS Saint-Étienne (FRA), Qarabağ FK (AZE)

Group G: Sevilla FC (ESP, holders), R. Standard de Liège (BEL), Feyenoord (NED), HNK Rijeka (CRO)

Group H: LOSC Lille (FRA), VfL Wolfsburg (GER), Everton FC (ENG), FC Krasnodar (RUS)

Group I: SSC Napoli (ITA), AC Sparta Praha (CZE), BSC Young Boys (SUI), ŠK Slovan Bratislava (SVK)

Group J: FC Dynamo Kyiv (UKR), FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU), Rio Ave FC (POR), Aalborg BK (DEN)

Group K: ACF Fiorentina (ITA), PAOK FC (GRE), EA Guingamp (FRA), FC Dinamo Minsk (BLR)

Group L: FC Metalist Kharkiv (UKR), Trabzonspor AŞ (TUR), Legia Warszawa (POL), KSC Lokeren OV (BEL)

By: Nathan Quao/citifmonline.com/Ghana