Glo extends CAF Awards deal

Monday 12th January , 2015 2:14 pm

Telecommunications company, Globacom, has extended the sponsorship contract for the prestigious CAF Awards to 2018. The renewed partnership, signed by glo and the Confederation of African Football (CAF) will see Globacom remain as the headline sponsor of the annual CAF Awards for the next four years.

The signing ceremony took place on the eve of last Thursday’s 2014 Glo-CAF Awards Gala, with CAF President Issa Hayatou penning for the continental football governing body, while Mrs Gladys Talabi, Globacom’s Executive Director of Legal Services, did so for her outfit.

“Today’s event will ensure that the symbiotic relationship which started about 10 years ago between CAF and Globacom is sustained for another four years. With this agreement, we wish to reiterate our commitment to further stimulate and inspire the growth of football in our treasured continent,” Mrs Talabi said.

For his part, Hayatou commended Globacom for its support towards the development of African football over the years with its involvement in the CAF awards.

“We appreciate your support and what you have achieved and we can only pay homage to you (Globacom) for the tremendous efforts done towards the development of African football,” Hayatou remarked.

CAF and Globacom entered into partnership in 2005 when the first five-year contract was signed in France up to 2010, followed by a four-year extension till 2014.

Also present at the ceremony were CAF Executive Committee members Amadou Diakite, Adoum Djibrine, Anjorin Moucharafou, Kalusha Bwalya; FIFA Executive Committee member Jacques Anouma and CAF Deputy General Secretary Essam Ahmed.

Meanwhile, Ivorian international and Manchester City of England player, Yaya Toure, emerged the Glo-CAF African Footballer of the Year for the fourth consecutive time at the 20th edition of the prestigious continental soccer fiesta last Thursday night.

He was crowned Africa’s Best Player at a glamorous ceremony organised by Globacom at the Convention Centre of Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos, Nigeria.

Toure’s emergence dashed hopes of Nigeria’s Vincent Enyama who was widely tipped to become the first goalkeeper to win the award since 1986. The Super Eagles Captain eventually came third, while Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Borussia Dortmund was named runner-up to Toure.

The Black Stars duo of skipper Asamoah Gyan and his name sake, Kwadwo Asamoah, were named among Africa’s Finest XI for 2014.

Gyan, who finished fourth in the race for African Footballer of the Year award, had to console himself with his recognition as one of the best strikers on the continent currently.

He shared that honour with Gabonese marksman Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang who was named as the other striker in the African best eleven squad for 2014.

With his latest victory, Toure has now equalled the record of four Glo-CAF Footballer of the Year Award titles held by Cameroonian striker, Samuel Eto’ Fills. The midfield maestro, however, set a new record for winning the title for four consecutive times. He had won the last three editions in 2011, 2012 and 2013.

Source: Glo