Martino names Argentina prelimary squad for Copa America

Tuesday 12th May , 2015 10:56 am

Carlos Tevez and Javier Pastore, overlooked for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™, have been named alongside Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero and Ezequiel Lavezzi in Argentina’s preliminary 30-man squad for the Copa America.

Coach Gerardo Martino will cut the list to 23 on June 1 with the tournament taking place in Chile from June 11 to July 4. However Mauro Icardi, the third highest scorer in Serie A with 18 goals for Inter Milan, has been overlooked again, with Martino spoilt for choice among the strikers.

Argentina, champions in 1991 and 1993, have been drawn in Group B with Paraguay, Uruguay and Jamaica. Jamaica and Mexico have been handed invitations to the South American tournament.

Argentina squad
Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Sampdoria/ITA), Nahuel Guzmán (Tigres/MEX), Mariano Andújar (Napoli/ITA), Agustín Marchesín (Santos Laguna/MEX)

Defenders: Martín Demichelis (Manchester City/ENG), Nicolás Otamendi (Valencia/ESP), Marcos Rojo (Manchester United/ENG), Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City/ENG), Ezequiel Garay (Zenit St-Petersburg/RUS), Facundo Roncaglia (Fiorentina/ITA), Federico Fernandez (Swansea City/ENG), Milton Casco (Newell’s Old Boys), Lucas Orban (Valencia/ESP)

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Barcelona/ESP), Lucas Biglia (Lazio/ITA), Ever Banega (Sevilla/ESP), Fernando Gago (Boca Juniors), Roberto Pereyra (Juventus/ITA), Angel Di María (Manchester United/ENG), Federico Mancuello (Independiente), Maximiliano Rodríguez (Newell’s), Enzo Pérez (Valencia/ESP), Javier Pastore (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA), Erik Lamela (Tottenham/ENG), Nicolás Gaitán (Benfica/POR)

Strikers: Lionel Messi (Barcelonea/ESP), Carlos Tevez (Juventus/ITA), Gonzalo Higuaín (Napoli/ITA), Sergio Agüero (Manchester City/ENG), Ezequiel Lavezzi (PSG/FRA).