Best Fifa Men’s Player 2016: Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez & N’Golo Kante shortlisted

Friday 4th November , 2016 4:29 pm
N'Golo Kante, Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez helped Leicester City win the Premier League last season
N'Golo Kante, Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez helped Leicester City win the Premier League last season

Ten Premier League players have been nominated for the Best Fifa Men’s Player 2016 award.

The 23-man shortlist includes Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and N’Golo Kante, who won the title with Leicester City.

Also named are Sergio Aguero, Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City), Alexis Sanchez, Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Paul Pogba, Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United) and Dimitri Payet (West Ham).

The winner will be announced on 9 January.

Fans will be given the chance to vote on the award after the world governing body’s association with the Ballon d’Or ended earlier this year.

The Best Fifa Men’s Player is one of eight prizes that will be handed out at the Best Fifa Football Awards.

The votes of the captains and head coaches of all of the world’s national teams will make up 50% of the result, with the other half split between an online public ballot and votes from more than 200 media representatives around the world.

A three-man shortlist will be confirmed on 2 December.

Kante, who left Premier League winners Leicester for Chelsea in the summer, and Arsenal’s Sanchez and Ozil did not feature on the separate Ballon d’Or shortlist announced in October.

Meanwhile, Tottenham and France goalkeeper Hugo Lloris did not make the Fifa shortlist having been nominated for the Ballon d’Or.

Best Fifa Men’s Player 2016 shortlist

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Neymar (Barcelona), Mesut Ozil (Arsenal), Dimitri Payet (West Ham), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Barcelona), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City).




Source: BBC