AFCON 2017: Black Stars to earn reduced bonuses in Gabon

Monday 23rd January , 2017 5:27 pm

The Black Stars will earn less than usual in terms of bonuses at the 2017 African Nations Cup in  Gabon.

This was made known by the new Sports Minister designate, Hon. Isaac Asiamah on Monday.

According to the Minister, the decision was taken in consultation with the players and they gave their approval.

The Minister met with the Black Stars team at their hotel in Port Gentil to discuss a number of issues.

After the meeting, the Minister addresses journalists at the hotel and revealed the latest development.

Sports Minister designate Hon. Isaac Asiamah (Image credit: Images Image)

Sports Minister designate Hon. Isaac Asiamah (Image credit: Images Image)

“We are going to have a stake holders meeting to discuss payments for all national teams but in the interim we have held a meeting with the players of the national team and they have agreed to a 50% slash in their bonuses”.

“They have understood the situation we are in and also understand that the fans and the general public have spoken. The players understand this.”

Here is a video of the Minister revealing the cut in bonuses:

Thus, a win in the group stage and the quarter final will now fetch each player USD 5,000 while a semi-final win get the players USD 6,000 each and a win in the final will put USD 7,500 each in their pockets.

So, each player will earn USD 33,500 if Ghana wins the tournament.

The Minister said that the new amounts were a 50 percent reduction in the amounts stated in the budget prepared by his predecessor, Nii Lante Vanderpuye.

He explained that the old budget had USD 10,000 bonus per win in the group stage and quarter final, USD 12,000 bonus for a win in the semi-finals and 3rd/4th place playoff and USD 15,000 for winning the final.

The Minister also stated that the team would get a package from the state if they won the tournament.

Ghana is hoping to win its 5th AFCON title since 1982. The Black Stars have fallen short in the finals of 1992, 2010 and 2015.

By: Nathan Quao/citifmonline.com/Ghana