Eric Ayiah, Black Princesses nominated for CAF Awards

Monday 27th November , 2017 5:23 pm

Ghana U-17 captain Eric Ayiah and Ghana’s female U-20 women’s national team, the Black Princesses, have been shortlisted for the AITEO CAF Awards but Black Stars duo of Thomas Partey and Christian Atsu miss out.

Ayiah, who led the starlets to the final of the U-17 AFCON and the quarter final of the FIFA U-17 World Cup has been shortlisted in the Youth Player of the Year category while the Black Princesses, have enjoyed a sterling campaign in World Cup qualifying winning 10-1 on aggregate against Kenya in the last round.

Newcastle’s Atsu and Atletico Madrid’s Thomas Partey however, miss out on the final shortlist for the Men’s Player of the Year category.

The winners will be decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and Independent Media and TV Consultants.

Meanwhile, only members of the CAF Referees’ Committee will elect the Referee of the Year.

The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.


Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka)

Rutendo Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos)

Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsvedens)


Women’s National Team of the Year

Ghana U-20


Nigeria U-20

South Africa



Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

Hugo Broos (Cameroon)

L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Mihayo Kazembe (TP Mazembe)


National Team of the Year



Mali U-17


Zambia U-20


Club of the Year

Al Ahly

Mbabane Swallows

SuperSport United

TP Mazembe

Wydad Athletic Club


Youth Player of the Year

Eric Ayiah (Ghana & Charity Stars)

Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)

Luther Singh (South Africa & Braga)

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)


Referee of the Year

Bamlak Tessema (Ethiopia)

Ghead Grisha (Egypt)

Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)

Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)

Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria)

Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)




By:  Fentuo Tahiru/citifmonline.com/Ghana