Salah, Mane, Aubameyang nominated for African Player of the Year

Monday 18th December , 2017 11:27 am

Liverpool duo, Sadio Mane and Mohammed Salah have been nominated for the AITEO CAF Player of the Year Award for 2017.

They are joined by Borussia Dortmund forward Pierre Emerick Aubameyang.

The announcement was made in Accra by the Confederation of African Football on Monday.

Egyptian Salah has had a phenomenal year, helping the Pharaohs to the final of the African Cup of Nations (AFCON) and playing a starring role as they sealed a place at next year’s World Cup.

He has also been in stellar form for new club Liverpool where he has already scored 20 goals in all competitions for the Merseyside club.

Gabonese striker Pierre Emerick Aubameyang has maintained his impressive goal scoring form for club side Borussia Dortmund all through the year but could not inspire his home nation during the Afcon after sub par performances saw Gabon exit at the group stage.

Senegal’s Sadio Mane was the star man of his home nation’s Russia 2018 World Cup campaign but has only managed 4 goals for his club side after suffering a series of injuries that curtailed his play time.

The AITEO CAF Awards will be held in Accra on January 4, 2018.

Here’s the full list of nominees

Men’s Player of the Year:

1. Mohammed Salah

2. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

3. Sadio Mane

Women’s Player of the Year:

1. Asisat Oshoala

2. Chrestina Kgatlana

3. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene

Coach of the Year:

1. Gernot Rohr

2. Hector Cuper

3. L’Hussein Amoutta

Men’s National team of the year:

1. Cameroon

2. Egypt

3. Nigeria

Women’s National team of the year:

1. Ghana U20

2. Nigeria U20

3. South Africa

Club of the Year:

1. Al Ahly

2. TP Mazembe

3. Wydad Casablanca


Youth Player of the year:

1. Krepin Diata

2. Patson Daka

3. Salam Giddou


By: Citi Sports