2017 CAF AITEO Awards: Salah, Mane, Aubameyang to meet press ahead of Awards Gala

Thursday 4th January , 2018 12:06 pm

The three players vying for the 2017 CAF AITEO Player of the Year award- Sadio Mane, Mohammed Salah, and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang- will be in Accra this afternoon and will address the media ahead of tonight’s CAF Awards Gala at the Accra International Conference Centre.

Mane and Salah will be flown in on a private jet organised by their club, Liverpool, and they will be taken back to England after the event.

Liverpool face Everton on Friday at 2000 GMT in an Emirates FA Cup 3rd round match.

Aubameyang, on the other hand, does not have such pressing matters to deal with since the German Bundesliga will resume on January 12.

His Dortmund side takes on Wolfsburg on January 14.

From a Ghanaian perspective, the Black Princesses, the nation’s female U-20 team will be competing for the Best Women’s National Team of the Year award with Nigeria’s Female U-20 team and South Africa’s female senior national team.

Accra is hosting the event for the third time after doing so in 2007 and 2009.

Below is the full list of nominees for the 2017 CAF AITEO Awards:

Africa Player of the Year Award

  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year

  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)
  • Christina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)
  • Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

Youth Player of the Year

  • Krepin Diatta (Senegal & Sarpsborg)
  • Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)
  • Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

Coach of the Year

  • Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)
  • Hector Cuper (Egypt)
  • Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year

  • Al Ahly
  • TP Mazembe
  • Wydad Athletic Club

National Team of the Year

  • Cameroon
  • Egypt
  • Nigeria

Women’s National Team of the Year

Ghana U-20

Nigeria U-20

South Africa




By: Nathan Quao/citifmonline.com/Ghana