UEFA Europa League: ‘Complacent’ Arsenal through to Round of 16 despite loss to Ostersund

Friday 23rd February , 2018 5:23 am
Sead Kolasinac's fourth goal for Arsenal quelled Ostersund's comeback (Image credit: EPA)
Sead Kolasinac's fourth goal for Arsenal quelled Ostersund's comeback (Image credit: EPA)

Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger said his side were complacent as they survived a huge scare against Swedish minnows Ostersunds FK to claim a place in the last 16 of the Europa League.

The Gunners won the first leg 3-0 but one of football’s great shocks looked possible at half-time after the visitors struck two goals in 70 seconds.

Graham Potter’s side, who have risen from Sweden’s fourth tier since 2010, were on top in the first half and led 2-0 thanks to Calum Chambers’ own goal – deflecting in Hosam Aiesh’s shot – and Ken Sema’s clinical strike.

But the Gunners – who named a reasonably strong side only three days before their Carabao Cup final with Manchester City – improved slightly after the break and Sead Kolasinac finished from Hector Bellerin’s cross to relieve the sense of dread inside Emirates Stadium.

“We were not at the races in the first half,” said Wenger, who saw his side booed off at half-time and full-time.

“I think in the second half it was much better and we should have scored a few goals.

“In the first half we were in trouble and in danger because we were complacent, not focused and were open every time we lost the ball. We had no ideas with the ball and that’s why we were in trouble.

“We responded very well because we did the job to qualify, but that’s what we have to take from the night and that’s all.”

Arsenal, who have never won the Uefa Cup or Europa League, will discover their last-16 opponents at 12:00 GMT on Friday.

Ostersund are only the second team to win a game at the Emirates in the Gunners’ last 28 matches – a run dating back to March 2017.

Arsenal’s 15 potential opponents in next round
AC Milan, 󠁧󠁢󠁥Athletic Bilbao, Atletico Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, CSKA Moscow, Dynamo Kiev, Lazio, Lokomotiv Moscow, Lyon, Marseille, RB Leipzig, Red Bull Salzburg, Sporting Lisbon, Viktoria Plzen, Zenit St Petersburg




Source: BBC