2018 Women’s league to start in April

Thursday 22nd March , 2018 9:50 am

The 2018 National Women’s League will kick off on Saturday April 7, in what will be the 6th edition of the competition.

Sixteen clubs will be spilt into two zones, each comprising of eight clubs, with the winners of the two respective zones facing off in a grand finale at the end of the season to decide the winner. The teams in this year’s competition are:


Ashtown Ladies FC, Prisons Ladies FC, Pearl Pia Ladies FC, Fabulous Ladies FC, Supreme Ladies FC, Northern Ladies FC, Ampem Darkoa (defending champions) and Kumasi Sports Academy


Hasaacas Ladies, Halifax Ladies FC, Immigration Ladies, Sea Lions Ladies, Ladies Strikers, Samaria Ladies, Police Ladies and Soccer Intellectuals

According to the fixtures released on Tuesday, the first round will be completed within two weeks due to the delayed start of the league, with no breaks after the first round.

The date for the grand finale between winners of the respective zones was however not confirmed in the release by the Women’s League Board.

Ampem Darkoa Ladies go into the season as defending champions after defeating Prison Ladies in last year’s final.


By: Daniel Koranteng/citifmonline.com/Ghana